Twenty- five

“I want to be a doctor; a lawyer; a poet; a chartered accountant; the governor of BOG. I want to be a Chartered Management Accountant & psychotherapist; a teacher/lecturer…”  I said all those at some point in my life growing up.

25 finds me, a professional teacher, a blogger and a drummer [working on adding to the list]. My views and perception of life has evolved and is more real and practical and I’m still expecting some changes. I have grown; matured…….I’m growing, maturing every day. I look back on the years, some of the times all I see is a blur. I remember preschool, primary school, high school, college. I have made friends and lost friends. I have learnt a lot; made mistakes and looking forward to learn more. The memories, priced souvenirs.

Sitting down and taking stock, it seem I have achieved little; so much left undone. Then I’m reminded how the years behind have not been a waste. I remember my friends and family counting me as a blessing, I smile and know I have touched the world in some way, even though perhaps very minutely.

25 years, with the first real birthday cake and presents and a lot grateful. No frowns and grumblings. Only wide smiles and laughter. I have survived much and I’m blessed with more. I have a testimony and there is still yet a lot of goodness ahead of me.

In the distance ahead I see much awesomeness[a borrowed word], I also see hurdles and blockades but I know the ambiance is coloured with so much love, peace and joy so I’m holding on to faith. With squared shoulders I embrace my lot and take a course in patience and self-discipline.

Now the dream is a lot different. Now, I want to be the best of what I am and can be. I want to be someone through whom the glory of God can be shared…..someone who touches the world in the unique way only I can.. someone who will walk in purpose and in the fear of God.

13 Comments

Leave a Reply

